Malcolm McKeon Yacht Design


Malcolm McKeon has been a leading designer in the superyacht industry for over 30 years. His portfolio includes more than 200 sailing and motor yachts, 50 of them in excess of 30m in length. Malcolm’s inspirational conceptual work, space planning, exterior styling and naval architecture have reaped multiple international design awards.

The studio is based in Lymington, Hampshire, and works with clients from all over the world.

Notable yachts

Since the MMYD studio was established in 2012, the yacht design team have been responsible for several sloop-rigged sailing yachts, including the full-custom 33m Patoo (ex Missy) built by Vitters Shipyard, the 32.5m Ribelle – also built by Vitters Shipyard, and the 34m Liara that was built by Baltic Yachts and was awarded Best Exterior Design at the 2020 Boat International Design & Innovation Awards.

2023 will see a Malcolm McKeon-designed sailing superyacht of 33.5m completed by Baltic Yachts. The UK-based yacht design studio has also recently announced a collaboration with the Italian Sea Group for a new line of Perini Navi yachts.

The MMYD Studio has presented many superyacht design concepts, including a 75m catamaran and an 85m sloop that was developed in collaboration with Royal Huisman and known as Apex 850.


In addition to his technical expertise and long-standing experience in the superyacht arena, Malcolm brings a strong artistic element to his design work. His eye for line and proportion is expressed in a line-up of contemporary yachts that are acclaimed both for their form and function.

A long-standing association with world-leading shipyards, mast makers, interior designers, equipment and specialist service providers adds an unparalleled synergy to the design process.  A green approach to projects, reducing construction and operational costs, is a key consideration for designs of the future.

Royal Huisman   59.7 m •  2023
Baltic Yachts   34.14 m •  2019
Baltic Yachts   33.5 m •  2023
Vitters   33 m •  2016
Vitters   32.64 m •  2017