Located in the historic French shipbuilding port of Cherbourg in Normandy, CMN Shipyard builds custom power and sailing superyachts constructed in aluminium, composite and steel.


Established in 1945 to build commercial and military vessels, CMN (Constructions Mécaniques de Normandie) Shipyard added recreational sailing yachts to its manufacturing portfolio in 1961. CMN’s first successful production yacht line was the Maïca 11-metre racer/cruiser series designed by Illingworth and Primrose. In the 1970s and 80s, the shipyard also began building custom racing sloops for world-renowned yacht racers like Eric Tabarly and Olivier de Kersauzon.

As the size of new luxury yachts in the global order book began to increase in the 1990s, CMN responded by building larger custom projects such as the triple-masted, 42-metre Friday Star, one of the largest composite sailing superyachts ever launched. More recently, the shipyard has developed the CMN Line 60 luxury motor yachts in collaboration with Andrew Winch Designs, which combines a “blueprinted” 60-metre hullform and engineering with the capability to customise the yacht from the waterline up.

Notable Yachts

In 2003, CMN launched Mari-Cha IV, a revolutionary, 44.4-metre racing yacht built utilizing advanced carbon composites. Designed by Philippe Briand to be “the world’s most cutting edge racing schooner”, she set a circumnavigation record of six days, 17 hours and 52 minutes the same year.

The second hull build in the CMN Line 60 series, Slipstream, won multiple awards after her launch in 2009. The 60-metre superyacht’s exterior and interior styling are both by Andrew Winch Designs. Constructed with a steel hull and aluminium superstructure, she has a maximum speed of 17 knots and an impressive range of 5,000 nautical miles at 12 knots.


CMN Shipyard utilises the computer-assisted CATIA software to integrate its design, engineering and construction processes. The shipyard is capable of building or refitting superyachts up to 70 metres under cover.

CMN   60 m •  2009
CMN   60 m •  2009
CMN   57.7 m •  2007
CMN   49 m •  2001
CMN   42.6 m •  2002
CMN   42.37 m •  1993
CMN   32 m •  2003
CMN   31.46 m •  2003
CMN   25.3 m •  2001
CMN   24.48 m •  1985
CMN   24.38 m •  1981