Jonathan Quinn Barnett


Superyacht designer Jonathan Quinn Barnett founded his Seattle-based studio JQB Design in 1995 after a varied background that began with a degree in industrial design at the University of Cincinnati in the early 1980s. While he focused on automotive design, he completed a thesis in yacht design – a move that would stand him in good stead after a spell in 1985-86 working in Italy for car designer Tom Tjaarda and then working for special effects supremos Industrial Light & Magic.

In 1987 he joined the studio of legendary superyacht designer Jon Bannenberg, leaving after nearly seven years to set up his own design studio. With his brother, Chris Barnett, serving as general manager, the JQB Design team has worked on yacht projects from 15 metres to over 120 metres in length, including some of the best-known (and most confidential) megayacht projects in the world today.

Notable yachts

While many JQB yachts remain firmly off the radar, it is no secret that Jonathan Quinn Barnett worked on the interior design of Microsoft co-founder Paul Allen’s 126 metre Octopus. Other designs include the 55 metre Delta megayacht Silver Shalis and the 46.2 metre Northern Marine superyacht Bella Bri.


JQB Design projects extend to residential and architectural projects including the designs, decor, and project management services for the exterior and interior renovation of the main residence at Francis Ford Coppola’s Rubicon Estate in California, and commercial and private home design in the US and Canada. JQB has won awards, including a 2002 ShowBoats Design Award for 2001 Delta yacht Aerie.