Claasen Shipyards in Zaandam, The Netherlands, blends traditional styling and cutting-edge technology in building aluminium sailing superyachts from 18 to 44 meters. Many of its launches compete in prestigious international superyacht races around the world.


Nico Claasen founded the shipyard that bears his name in on the banks of the Zaan River near Amsterdam, in 1985. Claasen’s goal was to build custom luxury yachts for discerning owners. Since the mid-1990s, the company has partnered with Bloemsma Aluminiumbouw, which builds the yachts’ aluminium hulls while Claasen Shipyards provides produces the decks and interiors, as well as providing project management.

Claasen Shipyards is one of the builders that has responded to recent demand by superyacht owners to revive the majestic J Class yachts that raced for the America’s Cup in the 1930s. In addition, Claasen has helped to develop the F Class fleet of sailing superyachts that combine the nostalgic spirit of the J Class with the technology and performance of a modern-day maxi racer.

Notable Launches

In 2010, Claasen Shipyards delivered the J Class superyacht Lionheart to international acclaim. Hoek Design provided exterior and interior styling and naval architecture for the graceful, 43.4-metre sloop, which was the largest J Class yacht to be launched featuring enhanced performance for superyacht racing.

The following year, Claasen launched the new F Class with Firefly, a 35.2-metre sloop with an alloy hull lined with red cedar planks and a mahogany superstructure. Also designed by Hoek, Firefly has a minimalist interior that is “stripped down” for racing.


In addition to building custom sailing superyachts, Claasen Shipyards offers the refit and repair of yachts of up to 45 meters in length. It is well equipped to provide hull adjustments, woodwork, spars, rigging and technical installations.

Vitters   43.6 m •  2017
Claasen   43.4 m •  2010
Claasen   38.8 m •  2015
Claasen   35.2 m •  2011
Claasen   33.05 m •  1999
Claasen   27.5 m •  2008
Claasen   27.5 m •  2017
Claasen   27.5 m •  2009
Claasen   25.88 m •  2005
Claasen   24 m •  2007
Claasen   24 m •  2007