36 images

The Owner Series: Buying Insights From Superyacht Owners

2020-06-23

First-time superyacht owners should charter or buy second-hand before diving into a new-build project, according to a panel of highly experienced superyacht owners.

In the first in a new series of digital events directed at superyacht owners, Lord Laidlaw, Peter de Savary and Harry Vafias sat down with BOAT International editor-in-chief Stewart Campbell to discuss buying yachts.

You can watch the full session in the video below:

Laidlaw is one of the world's most experienced owners, having bought around 40 yachts over the years, including his current flagship, the 68 metre Feadship Lady ChristineDe Savary has owned at least 30 yachts in his long career, including such classics as Kalizma and Vagrant.

Vafias, meanwhile, currently owns two yachts – the 56 metre Benetti AE Cap d'Antibes and 47 metre Feadship X – and is famous for the diligence he undertakes before making a purchase.

All agreed that the value of a knowledgable broker is key – especially one that is prepared to say "no" and steer you away from a bad decision – and that video and VR can never substitute for an in-person visit to a boat.

The trio also discussed what to look for when searching for a shipyard to undertake a build, and how much resale value should factor into your thinking when considering buying a superyacht.

Meanwhile, you can register now for the next part of the Owner Series, at which we'll be joined by two more experienced superyacht owners to discuss charter.

Part Two of The Owner Series will take place on Thursday 2 July, 3pm UK | 4pm CET | 10am EDT

REGISTER HERE

SPONSORED LISTINGS