Alloy Yachts

New Zealand-based Alloy Yachts utilised high-performance yacht racing technology to build its custom, aluminium sailing and motor superyachts.

History of Alloy Yachts

An ambitious project to build a 28-metre performance sailing yacht in West Auckland, New Zealand, launched Alloy Yachts. The yacht, Chanel, was constructed of lightweight aluminium and featured a luxury interior that required the builders to establish a new standard of fit and finish. She was delivered in 1985, and her success prompted the local yacht-building team to stay together and found Alloy Yachts, Ltd.

One of the original team members, Tony Hambrook, who started as production manager, was named managing director of Alloy Yachts in 1989 and guided the shipyard for the next 27 years. Under his direction, Alloy continued to expand its capacity for building larger luxury yachts. The shipyard launched sailing yachts in excess of 67 metres and motor yachts up to 47 metres in length.

Yachts For Sale

Notable launches

Alloy Yachts demonstrated its engineering prowess with the launch of several ground-breaking sailing yacht projects, including the 32.6 metre Esprit, which drew on technology developed by the America’s Cup racing teams to feature the first carbon fibre mast and fully battened mainsail; the 33.2-metre Espada, which pioneered in-boom furling systems; and the 54.27m Tiara, which showcased the first helipad on a sailing superyacht.

More recent Alloy superyacht launches include the 2005, 39.7 metre sailing yacht Janice of Wyoming; the 2007, 34 metre expedition motor yacht VvS1; the 2012, 47 metre motor yacht Loretta Anne, and the 39.12 metre motor yacht CaryAli, which launched in 2013.

Yachts for Charter


Alloy Yachts specialised in new aluminium custom superyachts, both power and sail. The shipyard worked with many of the world’s best known yacht designers up until it ceased trading in 2016.

YACHTS BY Alloy Yachts


32.97 m  2004


32.6 m  1991


31.94 m  1998


31.7 m  1985


31.18 m  2002


31.09 m  1989


30.94 m  1998


28.1 m  1995


25.45 m  1993


24.38 m  2000